Skip to content

Odd Turn of Events…

April 5, 2011

This is a typical example of how my mind works.  It all happened yesterday…

I reviewed Acer’s new Iconia-620 Touchbook launched a few days before and thought, “Oh, that’s just like the Kno!” (which I’ve been following eagerly since I found out about it mid year of 2010).  The Kno is really a student’s tablet and I wish it existed while I was still in school.  I love the interface and how easy it is to take down notes, I love that it comes in one or two screens, and I say it again I LOVE THE INTERFACE!  Well thought of GUI, the product itself is absolutely amazing, I want one just because I want to learn from it’s usable features! So going back to the Acer, it’s a laptop with two screens just like the Kno, and it’s pretty cool the way you can use the second screen as an extension to of the other, or as a keyboard, or a drawing pad.  But because you have the typical OS installed in it which isn’t ready for two touchscreens, I think we have yet to see the FULL capabilities of the Iconia.

So it brought me to my next trail of thought… Knowing that the trend leads us towards tablets–and now tablets with two screens, how will that affect the way we design or develop websites and apps?  Do these technologies in any way push web designers to think in another dimension?  All the more should we use web technologies like HTML5?  How will this affect Accessibility and Usability standards?  And how long before we see glasses-free 3D viewing in tablets or laptops, like Nintendo’s 3DS?  I was also thinking–well, forward-forward thinking, it won’t be long when popping ads will really be popping out of your screens, or jumping out of one screen and into the next, and completely bringing us to a whole new experience of discovery…  It’s like that time I saw an LG cellphone on top of a Microsoft Surface, I thought, “boy, it won’t be long before business cards and resumes are exchanged this way, or backing up files this way, or extending browser screens from the mobile phone onto the Surface and having the navigation in the phone while the rest of the contents are on the Surface, or how about another level of authentication for security (palm on Surface enable the use of a key on the mobile phone)…”–this either stems from too much James Bond or a very wild imagination.

And then I thought, could there be any way RDFa plays a vital role for this kind of technology?  Is there a way for markup language and attributes to be used to pull/trigger a specific function (or widget) to present data?  (A side thought; can MathML be processed?)  Am I just forcing RDFa to something completely unrelated?  Why must there be a connection to everything?!  (–Because there always is!)

But really, the semantic web is fascinating.  As if my mind wasn’t already occupied, I was also hoping I could attend the 2011 Semantic Technology Conference on June.  Their agenda is packed with discussions and case studies on different sectors going semantic… one of which happens to be my favorite implementation; open government and open government data.  (By open government, we mean the commitment to ensure that all aspects of the way that government and public services are administered and operated are open to effective public scrutiny and oversight.)  Oh, Philippines, how long before we implement this?

And just like that I received this shocking news…  I felt an odd sense of loss when I heard that Data.gov and Six Other Open Government Sites will soon be shut down due to budget lack.  After following the footsteps of the UK and helping a lot of people in the US, it still boils down to money–or the lack of it.  I’m not an American but I believe in the open government initiative, I believe the Philippines is long overdue implementing it, and I believe nothing is more important than pursuing accountability and transparency in the government for the sake of it’s people, and that alone compels me to save the data!

And so ended the cycle of my thought process for the morning.  It led me from cool new gadgets to UX design to the semantic web to open government and finally to petitioning for a worthy cause (well… i couldn’t really petition but I fully support it 110%).

—–

There’s just one more thing I feel deserves to be shared (since this entry has been about a hodgepodge of topics) which I just discovered today (shame on me).  Because of following topics on open government I finally stumbled upon the Philippine Public Transparency Reporting Project (Pera Natin ‘To!).  It doesn’t employ semantic web technologies (yet) but I believe it’s the first step towards an open government.  If our own government can’t start it, might as well come from the people.  I’ve just added it to my bookmarks and I now encourage everyone to visit this site regularly, especially if you are Filipino.

4 Comments
  1. mcamello permalink

    You can only stop government graft and corruption if the people can send grafters to jail. Short of that, you can’t stop corruption in the government. Read the web site below to accomplish the objective of sending grafters to jail:

    http://www.the-filipino-people.com/support-files/grand-jury-power.pdf

  2. mcamello permalink

    Government graft and corruption will never stop if the people cannot send grafters to jail within 1 year from date of discovering of their criminal act. To send them to jail, please browse the web site below:

    http://www.the-filipino-people.com/support-files/grand-jury-power.pdf

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Can A Government Really Shut Down? « Talk now, Monica!

Leave a Reply

