Skip to content

Shamcey Supsup chose God above popularity and will be blessed for it.

September 13, 2011

I have to commend Shamcey Supsup for her answer to Vivica A. Fox’s question: “Would you change your religious beliefs to marry the person that you love? Why or why not?

Shamcey replied, “If I had to change my religious beliefs, I would not marry the person that I love because the first person I love is God, who created me. I have my faith and my principles, and this is what makes me who I am. And if that person loves me, he should love my God, too.

She stood firm in her faith in God and chose to honor Him despite what the judges may feel to be a better (or popular) answer, such as accepting one’s partner, respect, or showing how much you are willing to sacrifice for love.  Not many people would have had the courage to declare this plainly, much less if their only concern was to win the votes of judges.  But Shamcey wasn’t concerned about winning in the eyes of people, she was more concerned about winning in the eyes of God.  Shamcey’s answers have earned my respect for who she is, and in fact it was a rebuke to me because I have, on occasions, chosen “safe” answers about matters of faith.

If Shamcey ever gets to read my blog, I only want to say “thank you for standing firm and choosing God” and that “you should not feel bad that you did not win any of the top three places in a pageant established by men.”  “Your inner beauty has shone in God’s eyes and I am sure you will be blessed beyond your expectations for it.  People will now have you and Pacquiao as  examples of how much God blesses people who have honored Him in all their victories, even failures.  In the end what matters most is that we win in the eyes of God.”

Mabuhay ka, Shamcey, and to God be the glory!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

